Skip to content

Ainsworth leaves QPR

Comments

• Luckily no-one on here would revel in that Ainsworth losing his job (whilst forcing Dobbo to join him at QPR) and take pleasure in suggesting he might not get another.

• On the plus side I’ve googled QPR too often because I wanted GA to succeed. Now I can simply revel in their demise.

• Why come back? Because he obviously loved it here and I assume wants a wage coming in.

Option 1: stick with Gaz. Next job is probably at a struggling club and could be the other end of the country. Every chance you're out again in under 18 mths.

Option 2: coaching role at Wycombe. Assurances from Bobby C you're the next man in the hotseat.

Obviously I don't know his circumstances or what he'd want. But there's a pitch we can make to him and the worst he could do is turn us down.

MB would need to be onboard of course. But as a relative managerial novice I reckon he'd see value in having another trusted, experienced member of staff around.

We know Dobbo to be a very astute coach, tactician, judge of character and recruiter of football players who is currently out of work. It would be crackpot for us to not at least have a quiet chat and see if he'd be interested.

• It is nuts that they let him stay through an intentional break, only to let him get beat by top of the league to sack him

• They did just get self-sponsoring naming rights for Loftus Road in place. I wonder if they were waiting on that for the necessary FFP-compliant funds to be able to pay him off?

• They waited until he was watching New Zealand doing the haka

• Exactly.

He's not going to go on the QPR video and say "well Gaz wanted to come, I didn't really, but was duty bound."

His video leaving Wycombe was more telling, borderline tears.

• It is possible to both want to move on to a new opportunity and to be sad about leaving your current employer.

• I had pondered for a while how the fan base would react when the inevitable happened at QPR.