Skip to content

Realistic Signing(s) for the Summer

Comments

• edited September 2022

Pompey are owned by a billionaire. He may not be bankrolling them, but I find it extremely hard to believe they're operating on a similar budget to Wycombe's

• @Bacon_Sandwich I am confused, do you want a community club (natural historic level probably Nat League South) or a club pushing for Championship level?

Cant have it both ways.

Rob has always said underlying financial sustainability the priority, valedictory proclamations of ‘automatics / play offs’ may distract from this principle but, as those who have worked in US corporate environments will have experienced, you take such ‘positivity’ with a pinch of salt.

• Quite a bleak depressing read from Mr Bacon there. Wow, wish I'd skipped that.

Roll on the game today eh. Looking forward to it.

• I would say Wanderers TV specifically is excellent value for money as a Vipienne resident, I used to pay on a game by game basis to watch the games but got the general package this time round, which is a fair bit cheaper.

• edited September 2022

Think there is a misconception about lower league owner investment levels above. The Couhigs have said they are prepared to take a bit of a loss over time if needed and I'd imagine this is more related to a gamble over what a sale price might be in 5/10/15 years time. There's a variety of rules in place to suggest clubs don't lose money to pay for short term player deals. While sales are up on tickets and merchandise I believe 5/6000 people versus 30000 is always going to provide less income. We did make some money in the championship but it won't last forever and any capital expense on the stadium (that the Couhigs don't own) needs to be coming from there or profits or the trust will need to pay 25% of it