Skip to content

Match day thread: Doncaster

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Was anyone wanting Gaz sacked or were they just speculating?

• Talking of Gaz, rumour has it that Warburton is on the brink of the sack at QPR so strap yourself in for some more of that speculation

• I remember when we had no strength and depth...now we have some talent in the squad every player who cannot get in the team must 'have run over Ainsworth's dog' or their 'Wycombe career is over...' Now I'm no expert but when we are struggling the team gets switched when we are winning surely consistency is the key?

• Odd sort of game yesterday. It always looked like once we had scored the first goal, that was it so there wasn’t really that level of tension you get at 1-0. Although I was glad those mad goalmouth scrambles came when we were 2-0 up.

Some moments of pure class from Mehmeti but again a masterclass in defensive midfield play from Scowen. Interesting in how much better balanced we look with him and Wing in midfield compared to him and Thompson.

On the subject of balance, we do look better with McCarthy in the team although probably more vulnerable defensively.

Interesting (and probably correct in my view) to see that JJ is keeping Obita (one of my players of the season) out of the starting 11 at the moment.

An observation from me on the Horgan debate. I’m very much in the ‘must start’ category. Looking at some of the intelligent runs he makes off the ball he must cause real problems for defenders not knowing what to do and that doubt causes opportunities and space for the rest of the team. (The answer is of course to not bother and just let him run into dangerous positions with the ball as there is zero chance of him actually scoring a goal. But sshh)

• The quality of the players who can’t get in the team (or might not if they were available) is a good indicator that this is the best ever Wycombe squad.