Skip to content

The definitive ex-player news thread

Comments

• I don't look back at Scott McGleish with any affection despite his great goalscoring record for us. Think it is for the same reason as @eric_plant mentions above. Good to see him still playing though.

• I have a degree (a smidgen) of sympathy for McGleish. Just as he was getting to the age when he needed to conserve his energy for action in the box, he was being asked to chase all over the pitch and consequently couldn't perform when he actually got into goal scoring positions. Didn't wholly excuse his behaviour, but perhaps puts it into a bit of context.

• You could equally say that just as he was getting to the age that his employers should expect better from him, he acted like a child.

• What context explains a senior pro encouraging young players to look for new clubs whilst still contacted to Wycombe?

Absolute arsehole of a man

• aaah yes..I have a vague recollection of that controversy @eric_plant can you fill me in with the details?

• Paul Lambert got in a huff because his transfer budget wasn't to his liking, so walked out

Scott McGleish took umbrage at this, saying the club hadn't backed the manager and basically said in that week's BFP that he was advising players to find new clubs

• Did Paul Hayes turn up anywhere out of interest? Apart from another of Richie's false stories about Orient, didn't hear anything else.

• According to his Twitter bio he's academy coach at Charlton

• Yep. Don't mention that while DevC's around though

• @eric_plant hadn't heard that about Scott McGleish before and if that's the case, then absolutely inexcusable. Are well, so many heroes with feet of clay.

• In fairness, he was talking about players whose contracts were coming to an end, not as I suggested above

• It was the closest Matt Bloomfield came to leaving the club