Skip to content

VAR

Comments

• I am a referee so I don’t personally blame them too often.

The ‘we’ is the collective of the football world - managers, fans who phone in or post on socials and media who obsess about refereeing decisions.

• Strange that the worst applications of VAR in these championships have come when English referees have been in charge.

• It's not the referees' fault! They're applying the laws of the game correctly

What else were they supposed to do tonight? Do you think they got either of them wrong?

• We are in full agreement then!

I said when VAR was introduced it would be abysmal (I underestimated quite how bad it would be). I also said it's the fault of everyone who constantly whinges about refereeing decisions, the vast majority of which are correct

• The thing is, VAR could get everything 100% correct in 15 seconds and it would still be a no from me. The spirit of the game has been sacrificed for the letter of the law. Hence the toe-offsides.

• I agree 100% Shev, I'm just curious to see the justification for saying it was poorly applied by the English officials

• Michael Oliver gesturing that Havertz played advantage for the last man tackle on another player out of Havertz’s sight was outrageously poor refereeing. And he didn’t retrospectively book the player, let alone send him off for a blatant professional foul with zero intent to play the ball. Awful English refs all tournament. Awful VAR.

• I like the lady who explains all the mad rules on ITV. Like a refereeing encyclopaedia

• One of the stars of the tournament for me.

• Thing is, ALL referees have an encyclopedic knowledge of the laws of the game.

Guess who hasn't? Everyone else