Skip to content

Euros 2022

Comments

• Loads of people on social media and the press bemoaning the men’s game on the grounds that there is too much anti social behaviour in the stands and around stadiums.

No doubt there are some reprobates that attend England men’s games. Not defensible and deserves to be criticised. But gets blown way out of proportion in my view.

• edited August 2022

As said loads of deserved praise for the England women on other threads. Regarding your criticism of the mens game well I’ve been coming to Wycombe for too many years to count and it’s as safe as you can get, you can count the number of drunken brawls I’ve seen on the fingers of one hand and they were all opposition fans.

• “Virtue signalling”

• That and all the jingoistic nonsense puts me off wanting to go to a men's game, but that's not the same as not liking the team - who I do like and support.

• Having watched the Euros I'd love to go and watch my local WSL team, unfortunately its Man Utd and I just can't do it.

• Also, I don't think it can really be said it gets blown out of proportion after what happened at the Euro 2020 final.

• Jacqui Oatley told an interesting story yesterday. Her local team Chelsea sell season tickets really cheaply. That means that Kingsmeadow is largely sold out. However as they are so cheap people won’t sometimes go if something else is on. So although it is not full you can’t get tickets. Given the chance to play at The Bridge Emma Hayes doesn’t want to give up what she sees as home advantage. So young kids on a high wanting to see the Lionesses will be losing out because of a will to win.

• Liz Thatch or Richi will sort out that virtue signalling and wokism. It is a vital part of their plan(s).