Skip to content

Match day thread: Sutton ( League cup)

Comments

• if the rumoured £350k is true I'd be taking that, and I expect Hanlan would want to go too if he's getting more football.

• Someone on here said the players showed the intensity of a PSF. They weren’t the only ones.

• Blooms' interview all but confirms Hanlan on his way out.

• Just looking at our goals this season: 5 in total - 3/5 from set-pieces, 2/5 vs 10 men, 1/5 on the counter vs a team chasing the game. We've had spells of attacking threat but nothing sustained, I don't think. Lack of intensity is worrying.

• The atmosphere wasn't awful considering half the ground was shut.

Plus of course the players are, you know, paid to be there whereas the opposite is true for us

• I don't think anyone should criticise attendances given the price of... everything at the moment.

• I'm no expert of course, but I'd imagine playing in a 15% full stadium would affect performance levels. Whether it should or not or not is a different question.

• And he doesn't sound very happy about it either...

• This is quite an interesting discussion given that I was there and you weren't!

But "bants" aside I think you're wide of the mark. I didn't see any lack of effort from the players. If matches were decided on effort we'd be ok.

Unfortunately for us, matches are decided on goals scored, and that would appear to be a bit of a problem for us at the moment

• edited August 2023

I was on the fence with Uche (if our interest is even a thing), but now I am on Team Uche - let's use the Hanlan money to grab him, if possible. It would be tremendous fun, if nothing else - Uche is quite happy to make his own chances if no-one else does it for him!

Edit: I know he is a free agent, so by "use the Hanlan money" I mean to pay his wages.

• I'm encouraged by your second para, although it doesn't seem to be the general consensus.

Blooms sounds furious about the Hanlan situation doesn't he?

• edited August 2023