Skip to content

Match Day Thread: Crawley

Comments

• edited October 6

I’ve said it a few times but if the club want me to do some free volunteering for the commercial side of the business then I’d be very happy to support. I lead a business analysis team. I’ve got a degree in economics. I have 5+ years experience of pricing. The attendances are worsening whilst the product is improving. That’s poor pricing. It’s quite clear that many of the terrace dwellers now are season ticket holders. Singular match day tickets are attending far less frequently and that’s almost certainly coincided with the recent change in ‘break even’ pricing structure of season tickets. Couple that with the introduction of Sky Sports+, the uptake of fire sticks (and Vipienne) in my age demographic and the changing demographics of Wycombe town centre in the last ten years and we are doing things incorrectly. Our owner is a billionaire who made his money in data, so there is no excuse for us to be pricing our product so incorrectly. Even worse, does it matter if we lose £3m a season or £4m a season? It’s way higher if we include Harlington. It’s a drop in the ocean for our owner. We’re already operating at a huge loss without ownership cash injection and we’re increasing our playing squad budget. The evidence so far is that the ownership group don’t care about running up larger financial losses and they don’t care about poor attendances. It’s disappointing. Anyway. The offer is there.

• What would you change prices to? Would you do this mid season or starting from next season.

• The big thing for me is the price of WWFC merchandise especially replica kits. I want to see dozens of kids walking round town in light and dark blue. Instead all that can be seen are Barcelona, Manchester United and Liverpool.

how much are kids kits these days? £60 plus. Even old ones.

make kids kits £20 a time, take a marginal loss and see the benefits