Skip to content

Club engagement local town

Does anyone feel like the club/trust have been missing a trick trying to engage more in the town and surrounding areas?

I do feel sometimes we live in a Twitter bubble.

retweets and likes don’t put cash through the turnstiles.

Interested to know everyone’s thoughts. I’m not a prolific poster so apologies for anyone thinking “Who the f***ing hell are you?”

Comments

• What way do you feel they should be engaging people?

More visibility in town? Freebie tickets?

Players turning up in town more than currently?

• If you walked into wycombe town centre, you’d think we never had a football club.

So more visibility, absolutely. Even putting up some fixture posters in the local pubs.

Just feel that the target audience is on our doorstep and we haven’t done enough over the years to drive interest locally

• On the pub poster point, @boozyblue85, it’s a sad fact that, nationally, one a day is currently closing and a great many had already closed before the Covid pandemic and cost of living crisis.

Those pubs that survive tend to do so by introducing (or improving) lunch and dinner options in addition to snacks at the bar. I suspect this has had an effect on the customer profile they are (literally) catering for. A positive aspect of that could be that more family groups are attracted and any publicity given to the local football club could result in two or more family members deciding to “give it a go”.

• Nobody puts fixture lists up in pubs any more because Sky like to change the dates willy nilly.

• Sadly @micra you’re correct about pubs.

It would be nice to just see the club advertised in the town more. I’m sure there’s electronic advertising where you could put something about the club.

There’s over 170,000 people in High Wycombe, surely that’s the target audience? Maybe I am missing something, and there is a reason why the club don’t.