Skip to content

Club shop rip-off

Comments

• That’s a slightly different matter. They kinda have a captive audience once someone at the ground and hungry so a premium price for an average product makes “sense” (in a maximising profit kind of way)

Dont think there’s many people/times when someone’s got to the ground and only just realising they need to buy a coat.

• edited December 2022

Not at that price I didn’t.

I’d get a much nicer one for less money. Which is a shame isn’t it. Because I would have spent money with the club and now I won’t 🤷‍♂️

• To be fair, it is an excellent coat that has kept me warm during this cold snap. However I wouldn't have paid over £100 for it (it was brought as a birthday present!)

• They'll be the same people you see in the luggage shops in airports

• Not sure about your captive audience point. I have been coming to Adams Park/Loakes Park for over 40 years and I almost always bought food and a hot drink at a game. Since the Couhigs upped the cost and reduced the quality, I now always eat before I come out. So much for improving the "matchday experience".

• That’s why I added the word “kinda”. Eating at home before/after a game is always an option but if you’re hungry once at a place you’re more likely pay a tenner for a burger due to convenience than £106 in the highly unlikely event you forgot to bring a coat.

• edited December 2022

I think I would prefer to buy the coat rather than 10 burgers🤠

• I’ve heard and seen so many people in the same situation. I should really do the same, for me it’s not the price but the rubbish quality and lack of options.

When they had different and/or better food each week I was OK with it. Funky Elephant in particular was excellent.