Skip to content

Darkness before the dawn

2»

Comments

• I've just watched it again. I can't see much loi t continuing to hammer him, as I said I feel sorry for him, but I disagree completely that that was in any unstoppable

• Although, I concede it does indeed look like a shot rather than a cross

• @Wendoverman said:
    I accept I am not a professional footballer but when you are handed a pen the least you can do is score. This season poor teams have made us pay for not taking our chances. I still think we will stay up but its going to be a close run thing.

I’d say the most you can do is score. The least you can do is a hopeless sky hoof a la Danny Hylton as see there some seasons ago. Sadly JJ was more Hylton than Harry Kane. It was doubly bitter as I’d spend some time chuckling about Hylton’s miss before kick off.

• Haven't put myself through the pain of watching the "highlights", but it really does sum up football when people can't agree if it was a worldie (hate that term) or not!

• @Wendoverman said:
    I accept I am not a professional footballer but when you are handed a pen the least you can do is score. This season poor teams have made us pay for not taking our chances. I still think we will stay up but its going to be a close run thing.

Back in my day, a pen was as good as a goal.
    It's long turned away from that though.

• About 75% of penalties are scored. The percentage has increased over time.

• We had the ball in their half for the first 3 minutes of stoppage time. I remember their keeper taking a goal kick really quickly with about a minute to go, and thought it was odd because we looked most likely to score

• @Chris said:
    About 75% of penalties are scored. The percentage has increased over time.

I am genuinely interested in this. Where is your evidence

• http://www.myfootballfacts.com/Premier_League_Penalty_Statistics.html

This may help @LX1. Varies a bit year on year ibut 75% isn’t far out