Skip to content

Comments

• Stuck away on Tuesday night at 2am like the good old days?

• Who presented The Championship? I want to say Matt Smith...

• If that’s the case let’s hope that Colin Murray moves with them.

• I used to love the Tuesday night 2am slot back in the day. It was free to air and I was a student at the time so it worked quite nicely for me. Thankfully things have moved on somewhat since then, and over the last few years Quest have massively improved on any earlier attempts at football league highlights packages.

Whereas returning to ITV might previously have been viewed as a step forward, I'm not remotely confident that they will carry it off to anywhere near the same level. I'm not a fully signed up member of the Colin Murray fan club, but he has developed an impressive depth of knowledge across the three leagues and presents very articulately.

• Murray has decent lower league knowledge and more importantly an empathy for the clubs who want to do it the right way.

A massive step up on the faux BBC lower league expert Clem. For all the years he’s been the only allowed voice I’ve never heard him add any value or insight at all.

• I used to fill endless VHS tapes of the programme in its ITV days went it never went on before midnight. They used to do features on one club a week which meant it was our turn roughly every two seasons. Seemed like good coverage at the time, and the whole thing took about 50 minutes.

I've barely watched it for years (the horrific early episodes on Channel 5 put me off) but I did tune in after the Oxford game recently and whilst the programme had much to commend, it the fact that every goal was shown twice made it drag endlessly to me.

• @Right_in_the_Middle said:
    Murray has decent lower league knowledge and more importantly an empathy for the clubs who want to do it the right way.