Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Penalty Shoot out dismissal

Interesting events in NI cup match last night between Larne and Crusaders. Game finished 1-1 and went to penalties.

At 3-3 Crues keeper saved the shot. However he was judged to be off his line so kick retaken and scored.

Next time he faced a shot he also saved it. But again moved off his line. This time booked and penalty retaken. And you’ve guessed it he saved it, but had moved from his line again. 2nd booking and was off!!

Crues lost after the penalty was eventually scored by Larne against the replacement keeper and the final Crues penalty hit the bar - the Larne keeper being off his line but kick not retaken.

Anyone with previous experience of this or views on it?

Comments

  • I think penalty shoot outs should be anything goes. Let the keeper rush out, let the taker dribble it in, let a fan have a go.

  • Should have said it was Cup Semi-Final too

  • Penalty Shootout video for those who want to watch.

  • Both keepers looked off the line for every shot that I could see.

  • Yes. But law states that for saved shots or where the keepers action clearly impacted on kicker warn for first infringement, caution for subsequent.

    If penalty is missed rather than saved then as long as keepers action is not clearly impacting record as a miss, no caution and continue.

  • It was the not retaking of missed Crues kicks that has created the sense of injustice - but the Crues fans haven’t mentioned their keeper not warned or booked for the Larne missed kicks.

  • @carrickblue said:
    Yes. But law states that for saved shots or where the keepers action clearly impacted on kicker warn for first infringement, caution for subsequent.

    If penalty is missed rather than saved then as long as keepers action is not clearly impacting record as a miss, no caution and continue.

    And that's the stupidity of the law. Either coming off the line is or isn't a cautionable action - it shouldn't depend on where the player taking the penalty places his shot. How can the referee know if the goal keepers movement off the line has affected the placement of the kick? Does he have data telling him of the penalty takers reaction time?

  • @Twizz

    Some aspects of football law are matter of fact - ball in and out of play for example (but still determined most times by human sight). Most decisions are subjective - was it a deliberate use of the hand or did the ball strike the arm for example.

    At a penalty kick it’s a matter of fact if the keeper touches the ball and prevents it going in as opposed to the penalty taker missing the goal - and with an assistant on the goal line it’s pretty matter of fact whether the keeper has a foot on the line. As such the referee acts in the same manner for the penalty kick as he/she does in the rest of the game.

  • @twizz

    And coming off the line in itself isn’t a caution. It’s doing it again after having been warned. If a referee warns a player about misconduct and that player commits the same offence again it’s considered persistent misconduct and penalised with a yellow card. And a second yellow/red if that player continues to flout the rule

Sign In or Register to comment.