Skip to content

Trust rule 102

I’m no legal expert but I have followed the debate over whether the trust board have acted within their powers, or otherwise, with interest with regard to rule 102.

What does cross my mind is the further trust rule -

“The following decisions must be made by Legacy Member resolution:
49.2.1 any decision to sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of Adams Park”

Assuming that the form of charge gives the power to sell or dispose of Adams Park in the event of default then I am not sure how this sits with rule 49.2.1?

Would the fact that the board have taken this decision unilaterally make it ultra vires and therefore void?

Comments

• Yes.legal has been taken independently of the trust board by concerned directors that supports your premise. It will also be the basis of a no confidence vote .

There are some very serious issues under companies law and directors obligations under law that will be asked of every trust director. Saying I was bullied or my voice was not loud enough is not a defence as a director, by law.

It’s very worrying.

• The WWT board appear to be of the opinion that 102 can be argued in a court of law as now applying to loans taken out by WWFC (not an opinion shared by me I hasten to add).

That may become academic if members of WWT decide that the actions were carried out ultra vires, against the spirit of the of safeguarding WWFC's most prized assets, and, ultimately, if enough WWT members deem the actions take to not have been in the best interests of WWFC.

• It's also firmly in the realm of speculation.> @marlowchair said:

Yes.legal has been taken independently of the trust board by concerned directors that supports your premise. It will also be the basis of a no confidence vote .

There are some very serious issues under companies law and directors obligations under law that will be asked of every trust director. Saying I was bullied or my voice was not loud enough is not a defence as a director, by law.