Skip to content

Season extended indefinitely

Comments

• @DevC @chairboyscentral both crucial questions, the answer that virologists are giving is that, they just don't know what will happen over the summer. It's too novel a virus to be definitive. They're watching the southern hemisphere for clues, particularly NZ over the next few months as its climate mirrors ours. They're basing their presumptions on how other coronaviruses like SARS and the common flu have operated, and they generally spread less in the warmer months. As to @drcongo's SARS post, he may well be right. I was given to understand that the reason it was eradicated was because it was a very stable virus, it didn't mutate at all, and so when a vaccine was developed it was very effective. But I'm also not a scientist so may well have misunderstood.

• @mooneyman said:
    There may be a slowing of the spread of virus in the summer simply because people tend to spend less time in enclosed spaces.

Isn't that the opposite logic to what we are being asked to do now. I'd read the warmer weather theory and whilst it works for flu bugs its unproven on this virus.

• The disease is spreading through Brazil, Dubai, Iran, Australia, Malaysia at varying rates but not too dissimilar form our own - I don't see warm weather doing much good.

• A popular theory seems to be that it’s more about humidity than temperature and that typically (not known in the case of Covid-19) airborne viruses hang around more/longer when the humidity is higher. Which in the UK is apparently winter (or entirely the opposite way round as it’s just something I read in passing the other day).

One difference to @aloysius’s theory might be if they ever get their act together with the anti-body tests (unlikely I appreciate) and start to issue ‘passports’ to people who have been known to have been infected and are theoretically immune.