Skip to content

The Bootlegger reopening in spring

And to be known as it's original name The Flint Cottage. The grade II listed building will be going under refurbishment shortly.
Hopefully it will treat football fans with a bit more respect than the owners who switched the name to the bootlegger originally.

Comments

• Aren't the new owners part of a small chain of pubs? Should be ok.

• I just hope when it reopens it's half as good a pub as the Bootlegger was

• @eric_plant said:
    I just hope when it reopens it's half as good a pub as the Bootlegger was

...at the start not at the end

• I'm not sure what evidence there is for a spring re-opening - the planning application hasn't been approved yet. Indeed although I'm no expert it looks from the document summary on the council website that proposals submitted on 24 Jan were amended a week later. And if anybody has explicit detail on ownership I'd be interested. My understanding was that the ownership was in some way (and pub groups have a myriad of subsidiaries) linked to Charles Wells. I don't think we'll get the sort of pub that the bootlegger was at its prime - but any new pub is a good thing.

• “Pub groups have myriad subsidiaries” please. Myriad means “countless or a great number”. To be fair, you are by no means alone in using “myriad” as you have @Baldric but the poetry (and meaning) of the original gets lost.

As I will now!

• @micra In addition to its use as an adjective, as in your example, the word myriad is also a noun. @Baldric has used myriad correctly as a noun.

• I had a myriad of rebellion iPa on Saturday.....

• “Ask” is also now used as a noun. Equally clumsy and ugly.

• @Ozzie_the_Relaxed: can’t say I noticed!

• At least I think i did @micra memory is a little hazy.... (Slightly hungover emoji face)

• @micra said:
    “Ask” is also now used as a noun. Equally clumsy and ugly.